Life & Death in a week: Rest in Peace Dolores O’Riordan, welcome to the world Jacinda & Clarke’s baby


Last week was a funny old week wasn’t it?

The death of Dolores O’Riordan from the Cranberries and the announcement of Jacinda and Clarke’s baby. The universal juxtaposition of life and death played out many multiple times every day blown up large and baked into a week.

The melancholic joy of No Need To Argue was one of those few gems you listened to the entire album for.

1. Ode to My Family O’Riordan, Noel Hogan 4:30
2. I Can’t Be with You O’Riordan, N. Hogan 3:07
3. “Twenty One” O’Riordan, N. Hogan 3:07
4. Zombie O’Riordan 5:06
5. “Empty” O’Riordan, N. Hogan 3:26
6. “Everything I Said” O’Riordan, N. Hogan 3:52
7. “The Icicle Melts” O’Riordan 2:54
8. “Disappointment” O’Riordan, N. Hogan 4:14
9. Ridiculous Thoughts O’Riordan, N. Hogan 4:31
10. Dreaming My Dreams O’Riordan 3:37
11. “Yeat’s Grave” O’Riordan 2:59
12. “Daffodil Lament” O’Riordan 6:14
13. “No Need to Argue” O’Riordan 2:54

The raw pain of O’Riordan’s lyrics managed to connect with the fissures within and examine hurt under a light that healed but never forgot.

I’ve lost count of the the number of times this album was played at House Parties at 3am, or over a lazy Sunday afternoon in 1990s Grey Lynn.

The tragic death of an author so wise in pain was eclipsed mid week by the brilliance of the announcement of life in the form of the Prime Minister’s pregnancy.

TDB Recommends

Many scrambled to attach symbolism and meaning to an announcement already brimming with symbolism and meaning and while those salutations should ring clean and unguarded for the pure exuberance of the moment, I still ended the weekend listening to No Need To Argue and drank a salute to Dolores.

A sad passing on such a beautiful day.





Comments are closed.