Nominations Now Open For 2014 Roger Award


MIL OSI – Source: Unite Union –

Headline: Nominations Now Open For 2014 Roger Award

The Roger Award is for The Worst Transnational Corporation

Operating in Aotearoa/New Zealand in 2014

Here is the link to the 2014 Roger Award online nomination form (the first time we’ve ever had an online one):

You can also download the hard copy nomination form from there.


TDB Recommends

The criteria for judging are by assessing the transnational (a corporation which is 25% or more foreign-owned*) that has the most negative impact in each or all of the following categories:

  • Economic Dominance – Monopoly, profiteering, tax dodging, cultural imperialism
  • People – Unemployment, impact on tangata whenua, impact on women, impact on children, abuse of workers/conditions, health and safety of workers and the public
  • Environment – Environmental damage, abuse of animals
  • Political interference – Interference in democratic processes, running an ideological crusade


The judges for 2014 are: David Small, a lawyer and Senior Lecturer in Education at the University of Canterbury; Dean Parker, Auckland writer and former Writers’ Guild delegate to the CTU; Dennis Maga, union activist from the May First Movement Philippines, organiser of FIRST Union and founder of Migrante and UNEMIG; Paul Maunder, cultural worker, curator of Blackball Museum of Working Class History and coordinator of Unions West Coast; and Sue Bradford, community activist, lecturer in social practice at Unitec and former Green MP.

They will be given a shortlist of finalists.

The winner(s) will be announced at a Christchurch event on May 1, 2015.


You can nominate the same transnational as last year as long as the nomination is about their misdeeds in 2014. Please send as much detail as you can (hard copy or e-mailed as Word attachments), including newspaper clippings and reports, but you do not have to do all the research. Just quote sources if you can.

Accomplice Award:

You may also nominate an organisation (not an individual) which has been the worst Accomplice in 2014 in aiding and abetting transnational corporations in New Zealand to behave as described in the criteria. The Accomplice’s award is in addition to the Worst Transnational Corporation award and will not necessarily be awarded every year. You may nominate for either or both awards.

Nominations close on October 31, 2014. You can send in your nomination via the online form, or by snail mail to

The Roger Award, Box 2258, Christchurch 8140

Or by e-mail to cafca

*Please note that Fonterra is not eligible.

Murray Horton
On behalf of the Roger Award organisers CAFCA & GATT Watchdog

Campaign Against Foreign Control of Aotearoa
Box 2258, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand

© Multimedia Investments Ltd Terms of Use/Disclaimer.